Lemonoreos's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Be Intentional September 15, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Chiz @ 4:47 am

What does it mean to be intentional? From what I understand from what one of the speakers at the Law Ladies Day (which I was privileged to be part of the planning committee), it means to make moves to allow things happen for your benefit. What I’m to say is participate. You want  to have as many experiences and achievements on your CV well don’t just sit there and only attend classes, participate in extracurricular things too.

Don’t wait for good things to happen to you by chance, let your deliberate actions cause them too. Put things in motion. Don’t just sit and wait, DO SOMETHING.

Looking back over the past year, I am impressed with how much I have grown. Everyday I am learning to leave my comfort zone and do something new. I’ll give a few examples.

I actually accepted to be a presidential candidate for a mock presidential debate organised by one of the societies in my faculty (Faculty of Law, Unilag). I willingly stood in front of over 100 students and staff judges and spoke. Ofcourse my legs were shaking behind the stand and I was sweating bullets because I was nervous but my friends were there cheering me on and at the end of it I got so many compliments on how well I spoke and someone actually told me that he’d want me to join a group of orators and get more experience because I spoke very well!

image

image

Then I was put into a committee to plan an event ‘Law Ladies Day’ and at first I just wanted to run away from it but I couldn’t because the head of the committee stays just a room away from me. Anyways it was not very easy sourcing for funds and getting speakers and planning but on Friday the 12th as I looked at everyone seated, the hall with a seating capacity of about 270 was not even enough for the turn out! All our speakers showed up and it was awesome! Kemi Adetiba said she loved my outfit and I even got nominated for best dressed :$ I was just so happy and proud to be part of those that made the event a reality.

image

image

At Church yesterday when I got in by 7am most people hadn’t arrived (probably tired from the dinner we had the night before) and only  few members of the band were available and I made a comment jokingly that I would go up with them and sing. Well that didn’t happen as they all were soon around. I was happy/sad but at some point during the service an announcement was made for anyone who had a special presentation and I said to my friend Joy, ‘I wanted to sing Oceans by Hillsong but I’m shy’ and she said she would go with me of I was going. LOL so I had to decide. I have always wanted to sing infron of the church but I’m too lazy to join the choir and this was my one of chance and I decided to take it. I do not regret it, firstly because no one laughed ( thank God), we actually got applauded at the end. I remember when I took the mic the first thing I said was ‘How many people love to sing but are not sure if they have good voices (like me)’. Now I can tick that off my bucket list.

I could go on but I cannot really remember every single instance when I have been intentional but what I can remember is that I did not regret any of those moments.
If you ever watched/read The perks of being a wallflower,  you’d remember how Charlie’s teacher always told him to participate which in my opinion is the same as being intentional. I would really love tp hear your own stories so feel free to use the comments section accordingly.

Peace, love and participation,
Chiz.

 

5 Responses to “Be Intentional”

  1. Iyke Says:

    Hi Cheeseballs! I guess I’m the first to comment :). I’ll remember this for the rest of my life! First of all, I’m extremely impressed by and proud of all the strides you’ve taken this past year. You didn’t tell me about the singing in church part though..lol. You’re amazing. I too, have decided to become more intentional this year. I joined a student organization called Engineers Without Borders and we’re currently building a bridge for a village in Nicaragua. Knowing that we’re meeting a need in that community has been the most fulfilling aspect of the whole experience. It’s also fun working in a team and learning some valuable skills along the way. I also joined a photography club in school to sharpen my skills just in case this engineering thing doesn’t work out. You’re absolutely right; you will never regret going out of your comfort zone and doing new things. Pardon my long comment! P.S: You should update this blog more regularly.

  2. Fiwasewa Says:

    Yay you!! I’m inspired all over again. I just keep falling off the wagon. You definitely should have won best dressed. Ur pictures are gorg :*

  3. specialkid1 Says:

    hi big sis,i love your blog and everything…when i first read your blog it inspired me to open mine but i never used it because i did not know what to write but i know i am a good thinker not untill i called you and you gave me clues and i just was really happy to hear from you and to follow it up ….am 1of your secret admirer I guess I never told you before.. thanks for everything and the encouragement.. love from Victoria 🙂


Leave a Reply

